From $3,000 PPDO Land Only

Single supplement: $570 View Dates & Pricing
No source file (src) specified.

Scottish Isles & Glens | 13 Day Escorted 2018

Tour Includes:

Transport

  • Sightseeing by luxury coach
  • Professional driver/guide

Accommodation

  • The Winnock Hotel Glasgow (2 nights)
  • The Balmacara  Hotel near Kyle of Lochalsh  (2 nights)
  • The Royal Hotel Ullapool (1 night)
  • Kirkwall Hotel or Ayre Hotel Kirwall (2 nights)
  • Columba Hotel Inverness (2 nights)
  • Apex International Hotel Edinburgh (3 nights)

Meals

  • 9 dinners
  • Welcome get-together drink

Other Inclusions

  • Visits, tours and admissions
  • Headsets for walking tours
  • Deluxe carry-on backpack, ticket wallet, luggage tags & strap
  • All local taxes, hotel service charges & porterage for one suitcase per person

Scottish Isles & Glens 14 Day Tour

12 Nights / 22 Meals

Starts in Glasgow / Ends in Edinburgh

Highlights:

Scottish Evening in Edinburgh

Eilean Donan Castle

Stay 2-Nights on Isle of Orkney

5,000-Year-Old Village of Skara Brae

Whisky Tasting on Isle of Arran

Highland Scenery

 

 

13 Day Scottish Isles & Glens Tour Itinerary

Day 1 : Glasgow Arrival & Loch Katrine Cruise

Your Scottish trip starts at 2:00 pm when you meet your tour director at your hotel, located in the village of Drymen and 20 miles north of Glasgow. Set out from your hotel and take a short drive through part of the Trossachs, often called "The Highlands in Miniature". Embark on the steamboat "Sir Walter Scott" for a short cruise on Loch Katrine to admire lovely scenery. Return to your hotel and relax for a time before joining your tour director and travel companions for a welcome drink before dinner.

Day 2: Isle of Bute & Mount Stuart House

Journey across a scenic Highland route and over the mountain pass of “Rest & Be Thankful.” A short ferry ride will bring you to the Isle of Bute where a drive around the coast will reveal stunning sea and island scenery. Take a guided tour of the highly-decorated chambers of Mount Stuart House, built in the late 1870s for the 3rd Marquess of Bute. See the many Victorian comforts that were highly innovative for the era. Spend some time in Rothesay, the main town on the island. Return to your hotel for free time to relax before dining in your hotel once more.

Day 3: Loch Lomond & Eilean Donan Castle

Travel alongside the famous Loch Lomond, renowned for its unsurpassed beauty. Travel through the deep valley of Glen Coe, notorious for the Campbell massacre of the Clan Macdonald in 1692. Continue through Fort William and stop at the Spean Bridge Woollen Mill, which offers a good selection of quality Scottish goods. Continue your drive north to visit the romantic Eilean Donan Castle. The first fortified castle was built in the 13th century, rebuilt several times and partially ruined in 1719. Check in to your charming family-owned hotel near Kyle of Lochalsh.

Day 4 : Isle of Skye & Dunvegan Castle

Today explore the Isle of Skye and its strong Bonnie Prince Charlie associations. He fled to the island after his defeat at Culloden Moor. Travel to Dunvegan Castle, stronghold of the Chiefs of MacLeod for nearly 800 years, making it the oldest continuously inhabited castle in Scotland. View priceless family heirlooms and stroll through formal gardens. Stop in Portree for a look at brightly-painted houses that cluster around a large bay. Return to your hotel for free time before dinner.

Day 5 : Inverewe Gardens & Ullapool

Enjoy Highland scenery as you drive north along the west coast to visit Inverewe Gardens, where a haven of trees and shrubs was created from 50 acres of bleak headland in 1862. The varied plantings thrive due to the warmth of the Gulf Stream. Continue to Ullapool, an active fishing and ferry port that was built in 1788 to provide a living for the people in this region. Take a brief drive around the town and check in to your hotel.

Day 6 :Highland Scenery & Isle of Orkney

Today explore more of the Highlands as you travel through one of Scotland’s most sparsely-populated regions with huge tracts of bogland, rugged mountains and coastline. Drive around the coastline through remote hamlets and vast areas of open land. Learn about the Highland Clearances, a tragic period of history when many peasants were forced off the land and emigrated to the United States, Australia and other countries. Continue to John O’Groats, the most northern place on the British mainland and take a nearby ferry to the Isle of Orkney, enjoying dinner as you travel. Check in to your hotel in Kirkwall.

Day 7: Orkney Sights & Skara Brae

Today explore the largest island of Orkney. Visit Skara Brae, a 5,000-year-old village, to see remains of dwellings. View the Ring of Brodgar, a circle of tall, prehistoric standing stones. Drive across the Churchill Barriers, created during World War II to deter German submarines and see the Italian Chapel, built from two Nissen huts with elaborate paintings. Return to Kirkwall to see 12th century St. Magnus Cathedral. Enjoy leisure time in the afternoon and evening to browse around the city center and dine on your own.

Day 8 : Dunrobin Castle & Inverness

Return by ferry to the mainland and drive down the east coast to visit Dunrobin Castle, dating to 1275 but renovated in the mid-1800’s. With 189 rooms this is the largest mansion in northern Scotland. Visit the dining room, music room and library with over 10,000 volumes and all containing priceless artifacts. Watch a demonstration of falconry in the castle gardens to see trained birds of prey. Continue south to your hotel in the center of Inverness, the principal town in the Highlands.

Day 9 : Urquhart Castle & Culloden Battlefield

Cruise into Loch Ness to visit the picturesque ruins of Urquhart Castle, once Scotland’s largest castle which was destroyed in Jacobite wars. Stop at the Culloden Battlefield Visitor Centre to learn about the conflict where Bonnie Prince Charlie was defeated in 1746. Walk around the moor and see monuments to the various regiments who lost men. Return to Inverness in time to relax, shop or walk alongside the River Ness in front of your hotel.

Day 10: Sheepdog Trials & Whisky Tasting

Drive past the majestic scenery of the Cairngorm Mountains to visit Leault Farm where skilled dogs obey commands to round up sheep. Continue south to Pitlochry to visit Blair Athol Distillery, Scotland’s smallest, which isset in a picturesque location outside the town. See how whisky is distilled and enjoy a tasting at the end of the tour. Drive to your hotel in Edinburgh and then head to a Scottish Evening where you’ll dine on excellent Scottish cuisine followed by a lively show.

Day 11 : Edinburgh Castle & City Tour

This morning discover Edinburgh on a sightseeing tour. Compare the wide streets and elegant mansions of the 200-year-old Georgian “New Town” with the narrow lanes and medieval townhouses along the Royal Mile, the oldest part of the city. Finish your tour at the imposing Edinburgh Castle to see historic buildings and enjoy a splendid view of Edinburgh. On July 25 to August 10 departures enjoy the Military Tattoo at Edinburgh Castle.

Day 12: Extend your Stay in Edinburgh

Spend the day on an independent hop-on hop-off bus tour of Edinburgh; there are a number of different routes that you may choose.

Day 13: Depart Edinburgh for Home

Your tour ends after breakfast.

Tour Starts Tour Ends Price (PPDO) Tour Status  
Sat Apr 14, 2018 Thu Apr 26, 2018 $3,140.00 Guaranteed Book
Sat Apr 28, 2018 Thu May 10, 2018 $3,050.00 Book
Sat May 5, 2018 Thu May 17, 2018 $3,100.00 Guaranteed Book
Sat May 12, 2018 Thu May 24, 2018 $3,100.00 Book
Sat May 19, 2018 Thu May 31, 2018 $3,100.00 Book
Sat May 26, 2018 Thu Jun 7, 2018 $3,100.00 Guaranteed Book
Sat Jun 2, 2018 Thu Jun 14, 2018 $3,350.00 Book
Sat Jun 9, 2018 Thu Jun 21, 2018 $3,350.00 Guaranteed Book
Mon Jun 18, 2018 Sat Jun 30, 2018 $3,350.00 Book
Sat Jun 30, 2018 Thu Jul 12, 2018 $3,400.00 Guaranteed Book
Mon Jul 2, 2018 Sat Jul 14, 2018 $3,400.00 Book
Sat Jul 14, 2018 Thu Jul 26, 2018 $3,400.00 Book
Mon Jul 16, 2018 Sat Jul 28, 2018 $3,400.00 Guaranteed Book
Sat Jul 28, 2018 Thu Aug 9, 2018 $3,725.00 Tattoo Book
Mon Jul 30, 2018 Sat Aug 11, 2018 $3,725.00 Tattoo/Tour Guaranteed Sold Out
Sat Aug 4, 2018 Thu Aug 16, 2018 $3,725.00 Tattoo Sold Out
Mon Aug 6, 2018 Sat Aug 18, 2018 $3,725.00 Tattoo/Tour Guaranteed Sold Out
Sat Aug 11, 2018 Thu Aug 23, 2018 $3,725.00 Tattoo Book
Mon Aug 13, 2018 Sat Aug 25, 2018 $3,725.00 Tattoo Sold Out
Sat Aug 18, 2018 Thu Aug 30, 2018 $3,625.00 Guaranteed Book
Sat Sep 1, 2018 Thu Sep 13, 2018 $3,400.00 Book
Mon Sep 3, 2018 Sat Sep 15, 2018 $3,400.00 Guaranteed Book
Sat Sep 15, 2018 Thu Sep 27, 2018 $3,400.00 Book
Mon Sep 17, 2018 Sat Sep 29, 2018 $3,400.00 Guaranteed Book
Sat Sep 22, 2018 Thu Oct 4, 2018 $3,400.00 Book
Sat Oct 13, 2018 Thu Oct 25, 2018 $3,000.00 Book
×

   100 Spring St, Boston MA, 02132 | 1.617.327.4242